常见问题解答

一般性问题

我不明白Guild声学模型的命名系统,为什么Guild要改变一些模型的名字?

当我们在2014年接手Guild时,我们有一个独特的机会,通过全新的眼光来看待它。作为品牌的新管理者,我们很快意识到没有一个既定的命名模式,并决定最好是简化这个过程前进。我们考虑到Guild的历史和旗舰车型,制定了这个方便的命名表。 虽然总是会有例外的情况,但我们计划遵循这些一般准则。

行会使用什么类型的木材,它们的声音是怎样的?

最常见的是,Guild使用云杉、花梨木、桃花心木和枫木。这些木材都有不同的类型,每种变化听起来略有不同。要了解更多关于吉他音色的信息,请查看 《木吉他》杂志的这篇内容丰富的文章

什么是pau ferro?Guild为什么要用pau ferro取代黑檀木琴桥和指板?

Pau ferro是一种南美洲的木材,已被用于制作吉他多年。众所周知,它具有光滑的手感,并与黑檀木有许多相同的音质。pau ferro的木纹介于黑檀木和黑檀木之间,它像黑檀木一样坚硬而略带刺耳,同时又保持着与黑檀木相似的温暖。从外观上看,宝阿弗罗的颜色往往比传统的紫檀木要浅,尽管它可能会被染色,使其看起来像紫檀木。

CITES(濒危物种国际贸易公约)是一个全球性组织,通过规范野生动物(包括动植物)的国际贸易来维护我们植物物种和生态系统的健康。从2017年1月起,CITES确定紫檀将受到保护,要求任何含有紫檀的产品都必须通过新的认证。这条新法规增加了制造含有紫檀木的吉他的复杂性,增加了制造商和消费者的成本。因此,为了应对这一问题,我们和许多其他吉他制造商一起,尽可能地换掉了紫檀木。我们选择宝铁作为我们许多乐器的最佳替代品,因为它与紫檀木有许多共同的特性(如上所述)。

我们保证所有Cordoba/Guild吉他都是合法进口的,符合CITES的所有规定。您不必担心CITES的问题,除非您决定在国外出售或交易您的吉他。适当的CITES认证将是您的责任,如果不遵守,可能会导致货物被没收,有时甚至销毁。只要您的吉他含有少于22磅的受管制材料,您仍然可以在没有认证的情况下旅行。

我们致力于提供高质量的乐器,同时保持材料既能被吉他市场接受,又符合CITES的所有规定。

预计这些变化将在2018年夏天出现在市场上(因车型而异)。

Guild吉他所使用的木材是如何采购的?

我们所有的木材都是以可持续的方式采伐和采购的。我们完全符合CITES(濒危野生动植物种国际贸易公约),这是一项各国政府之间的国际协议,确保我们使用的某些植物不会威胁到它们的生存。我们也符合莱西法案,该法案禁止非法采集、拥有、运输或出售野生动物、鱼类和植物的贸易。

我可以参观美国Guild工厂吗?

最终,只是还没有。我们的团队正在努力地进行生产和运行,并让下一代的公会下线。一旦我们在新的工厂里站稳脚跟,并且所有适当的许可都已经到位,我们一定会提供公众参观--我们只是需要一些时间来实现这个目标!请关注我们的博客或注册我们的电子报,当这样的事情成为现实时,我们会第一时间收到消息。

Guild Guitars是哪里生产的?

Guild USA原声吉他型号,目前包括M、D、F和F十二弦琴身形状,都是在我们加州Oxnard的工厂制造的。Westerly系列原声吉他型号由我们熟练的工厂合作伙伴在中国制造。我们的Newark St.电吉他型号根据型号的不同,在韩国、印尼和中国制造。随着我们Oxnard工厂的发展,我们将逐步增加新的型号到我们的美国制造的生产线,包括电吉他型号。

我可以订制吉他吗?

我们正在花费近期的时间进行生产,努力向全球提供高品质的标志性公会模型。请稍后再来查看,或注册我们的通讯,以获得定制公会的更新。

什么是拱背?

Guild在1953年开始为纽约市的爵士乐市场生产拱顶电吉他,这些吉他的背板是用压制的层压枫木制成的拱形背板,是爵士乐吉他结构中典型的手工雕刻枫木背板的低成本替代品。随着公司的发展,并在1954年开始提供平顶声学吉他,第一批型号如F-30、F-40和F-50都采用了这种压制层压拱形背板结构,这也成为了Guild的商标。其他经典的Guilds,如D-25和F-412,至今仍是品牌历史的标志,代表了这种独特的原声平顶和拱形背板吉他结构的结合。

除了经典的外观和符合人体工程学的舒适度外,拱形的背部设计还避免了背架的额外支撑,减轻了重量,同时增加了投射力和音量,为这些历史悠久的型号深受喜爱的Guild声音做出了贡献。我们向这一经典的Guild设计商标致敬,推出了全系列经济实惠的Archback型号,现可从Westerly系列中购买,尺寸从Concert到Jumbo不等。

公会的隐私政策是什么?

您可以在这里阅读我们的完整隐私政策。

寻找和照顾你的团体。

我在哪里可以找到授权的公会经销商?

在此访问我们网站的经销商搜索部分。

什么类型的抛光剂可以安全地用在我的吉他上?

为了让您的Guild保持清新和无污垢,我们建议使用微纤维吉他抛光布(如我们的网店提供的抛光布)以及任何专门为漆面制作的抛光剂或清洁剂。虽然几乎任何专门为吉他制作的抛光剂都可以安全地在您的Guild上使用,但这真的取决于吉他上的饰面类型。像聚氨酯这样的耐用漆面几乎可以承受任何你能找到的抛光剂,但像清漆或硝基这样更精致的漆面可能会对更多的研磨产品产生不良反应。在选购上光剂时,请确保它被批准用于您的吉他上的表面处理类型 - 如果您不确定您的吉他上的表面处理类型,我们建议寻求有经验的吉他技术人员或吉他店员工的意见,他们可以帮助您找到最佳产品。最好避免使用任何非吉他专用的上光剂或清洁剂,如金属上光剂、家具上光剂或汽车产品,因为它们可能含有研磨剂或化学物质,会伤害吉他上脆弱而薄的表面。任何原木,如指板和/或琴桥,都应该用温和的天然油处理,如柠檬油或煮沸的亚麻籽油。定期进行轻微的处理,如在重弹时进行处理,就可以保持这些未完成的木头部件的健康。

我可以把吉他送去工厂维修吗?

由于我们的资源和人力都集中在新工厂的生产上,所以我们目前不提供老式行会的维修服务。我们打算在未来几年内提供这项服务。在這之前,我們會把需要服務和維修的客戶引導到授權服務中心的網絡。请与我们联系,以便我们能在您的地区找到一个服务中心。

Guild有授权服务中心吗?

是的!直接联系我们,寻找您所在地区的授权服务中心。

为什么要给吉他加湿,怎么做?

我发现有受潮损坏的迹象......如何给吉他补水?

保修

Guild是否提供终身保修?

是的!请查看我们的保修政策。请在此查看我们的保修政策。

我没有原始销售收据,我还能享受终身保修吗?

是的,只要能拿到发票的复印件,或者能得到原经销商的口头验证。由于我们的质保只适用于原购买者,以及从公会授权经销商处购买的乐器,所以需要收据的复印件或经销商的口头证明来审核这些要点。一般来说,如果原件丢失,经销商会很乐意提供收据的复印件。

如果无法验证吉他的来源是否符合保修条件,我们的服务部门将很乐意为您提供备选服务方案。

如果我几年前注册了我的古董吉他,我还在你们的系统里吗?

由于Guild曾多次更换所有权,一些注册信息已经丢失,但我们鼓励您向我们查询,如果有疑问,请重新注册您的乐器。

替换零件网站商店

你有古董/停产公会的零件吗?

Guild Guitars只供应 零件适用于Cordoba Music Group从2014年开始生产的当前型号。我们不储存已停产型号或2014年以前生产的任何吉他的零件。从Guild网络商店购买的零件不能保证适合2014年以前生产的吉他。有关您的老式或停产的Guild型号的替换零件的信息,请联系众多售后市场零件供应商之一,这些供应商可以通过任何在线搜索引擎找到。一些受欢迎的供应商包括 Stewart Macdonald, Luthier's Mercantile, 所有部件, Theguitarmechanic.com, 古里安仪器.

 

你们的哪一个箱子适合我的古董Guild吉他?

与零件和硬件一样,Guild Guitars目前生产和储存的琴盒只适合当前生产的型号。然而,一般来说,如果你拥有的型号仍在生产中,或重新发行的型号也在生产中,那么该型号的琴盒很可能适合你的古董Guild。例如,一款复古的D-55将适合当前的dreadnought箱子,一款复古的Aristocrat将适合当前的Aristocrat箱子,一款复古的F-30将适合当前的Orchestra大小的箱子,等等。有一些例外,我们目前不提供,但大多数型号都会有相应的箱子,我们可以帮助您购买。如需了解更多信息,请联系Guild授权经销商。

我在你们网站上购买的东西如何退货?

请参考我们网站上的退货政策

多久能收到我的订单?

我们从南加州发货。对于美国境内的订单,我们的处理时间一般为1个工作日,在您的订单处理完毕后,可能需要5-8个工作日才能发货。对于国际订单,可能需要2-4周的时间,这取决于海关和关税。

复古

我的复古行会有多大年龄?

遗憾的是,多年来,一些文献资料已经丢失或被毁,导致历史记录中除了少量的异常、不一致和直接的年代错误外,还有一些漏洞。尽管如此,这里所编纂和呈现的信息是我们所拥有的最全面的Guild吉他年代数据集。请参考每张图表前的注释,以了解如何最好地解释这些数据。

1960年之前的公会序列号记录最多只是粗略的,使我们无法保证该年之前的年代准确性。尽管如此,上述链接中的图表包含了我们所掌握的1960年之前每年生产的最后一个序列号的最佳信息。没有相应的型号名称或编号。

另外两个非常可靠的Guild乐器年代资料是The Guild Guitar BookGruhn's Guide to Vintage Guitars,这两个资料都是非常好的参考资料,经常被证明对许多Guild乐器的年代、规格和历史背景问题有帮助。

我的复古行会有什么价值?

由于我们公司的重点是作为乐器的制造商和批发商,我们与二手市场没有直接联系,目前不提供评估。对于官方评估,或为您的Guild找到当前的市场价值,我们建议联系专门从事二手吉他的古董或二手吉他经销商。对于一般信息,包括粗略的估计或价值,我们也建议查看在线资源,如www.bluebookofguitarvalues.com

你有哪些关于科罗娜制造公会的信息?

2001年底,在Fender收购Guild之后不久,他们决定将Guild的生产全部转移到加州Corona的工厂。为了让Corona工厂(在此之前只生产电吉他)更容易地生产拱顶吉他和原声吉他,Westerly工厂的工匠和工人准备了吉他"套件",并将其运到Corona。这些套件是接近完整的生产吉他,只需要在送往零售商之前进行最后的整理和组装。

然而,在Corona的生产是短暂的,因为Fender在2004年收购了位于华盛顿的Tacoma吉他公司的资产,并将所有American Guild原声的生产转移到华盛顿的Tacoma。

Corona 序列号使用了许多不同的字母前缀,但一个不变的是它们都以字母"C"开头。

在这里没有看到您的问题?请联系我们,我们会尽快给您答复!

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

GENERAL

I don’t understand the Guild acoustic model naming system...why did Guild change some of the model names?

When we took on Guild in 2014, we had the unique opportunity of seeing it through fresh eyes. As new stewards of the brand, we quickly realized there wasn’t an established naming pattern and decided it was best to simplify this process moving forward. We came up with this handy dandy naming chart, taking Guild’s historical & flagship models into consideration.  Though there will always be exceptions to the rule, we plan to follow these general guidelines.

What type of woods does Guild use, and what do they sound like?

Most commonly, Guild uses spruce, rosewood, mahogany and maple. There are different types of each of these woods, with each variation sounding slightly different. To learn more about guitar tonewoods, check out this informative article from Acoustic Guitar Magazine.

What is pau ferro? Why did Guild replace rosewood bridges and fingerboards with pau ferro?

Pau ferro is a South American tonewood that has been used in guitar making for many years. It is known to have a smooth feel and shares many sonic qualities with rosewood. With a tight wood grain in-between ebony and rosewood, pau ferro is hard and slightly snappy like ebony while maintaining a nice level of warmth similar to rosewood. Visually, pau ferro tends to be lighter in color than traditional rosewood though it may be stained to appear like rosewood.

CITES (Convention of International Trade of Endangered Species) is a global organization that maintains the health of our plant’s species and ecosystems by regulating international trade of wildlife (both flora and fauna). As of January 2017, CITES determined that rosewood will be protected, requiring new certification for any product that contains rosewood. This new legislation adds complexity to manufacturing guitars that contain rosewood, increasing costs to manufacturers and consumers. So in response, we have joined many other guitar manufacturers in switching out rosewood as much as possible. We selected pau ferro as the best replacement for many of our instruments because it shares many properties with rosewood (as described above).

We guarantee that all Cordoba/Guild guitars are imported legally, complying to all CITES regulations. You don’t have to worry about CITES unless you decide to sell or trade your guitar abroad. The proper CITES certification will be your responsibility and failure to comply may lead to forfeiture and sometimes destruction of the item. You may still travel with your guitar without certification as long as it has less than 22lbs of regulated materials.

We are dedicated to providing instruments of great quality while maintaining materials that are both acceptable to the guitar market and in compliance with all CITES regulations.

Expect these changes to show up in the market in the summer of 2018 (varies by model).

How does Guild source the wood used on Guild guitars?

All of our wood is sustainably harvested and sourced. We are fully compliant with CITES, the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, which is an international agreement between governments that ensures that our use of certain plants does not threaten their survival. We are also Lacey act compliant which prohibits trade in wildlife, fish, and plants that have been illegally taken, possessed, transported, or sold.

Can I tour the Guild USA factory?

Eventually, just not yet. Our team is working hard to get production up and running and to get the next generation of Guilds off the line. Once we have our feet planted in the new factory and all appropriate permits are in place, we will definitely be offering public tours – we just need some time to get there! Keep an eye on our blog or sign up for our newsletter to be the first to hear when things like this become a reality!

Where are Guild Guitars made?

Our Newark St. electric guitars are made in South Korea, and our Westerly Collection acoustic guitars are made in China. Thus far, the M-20, D-20, M-40 and D-40 are all made in our Ventura County, California factory. We will gradually add on to the USA-made line, including D-55s, 12-string jumbos, and eventually, electric guitars.

Can I order a custom guitar?

We are spending the immediate future getting production up and running in an effort to deliver high quality, iconic Guild models worldwide. Please check back later, or sign up for our newsletters, for updates on custom Guilds.

What is an arched back?

Guild began its legacy in 1953 by producing archtop electric guitars for the Jazz market in New York city; these guitars were built with arched backs made from pressed laminate maple, a low-cost alternative to hand-carved maple backs typical in Jazz guitar construction. As the company grew and began offering flat-top acoustics in 1954, the first models such as the F-30, F-40 and F-50 shared this pressed laminate arched back construction, which became a Guild trademark. Other classic Guilds like the D-25 and F-412, icons of the brand’s history to this day, represent this unique combination of acoustic flat top and arched back guitar construction.

In addition to its classic look and ergonomic comfort, an arched back design prevents the need for the added support of back braces, reducing weight while increasing projection and volume, contributing to the revered Guild sound for which these historic models are so well loved. We’ve paid homage to this classic Guild design trademark with a full line of affordable Archback models, available now from the Westerly Collection in sizes ranging from Concert to Jumbo.

Does Guild offer any left-handed models?

We offer the following models in lefty: M-120E; OM-140CE; D-150. Check back later for updates on more left-handed options.

How is the Westerly Collection Series different from the GAD series?

  • Added 1 ¾” nut widths to achieve the classic Guild neck profile for better playability
    • GAD featured 1 11/16” nut width on Concert, Dreadnought, and Jumbo models. Orchestra GAD models were 1 3/4”
  • Added the Mother-of-Pearl “Chesterfield” headstock emblem that is reminiscent of historic Guilds
  • Moved to period-correct tortoise shell pickguards that match classic Guild shapes and coloring
  • Added a lightweight and protective polyfoam case
  • Added a spruce top version of the M-120 (called the M-140)
  • Added Fishman pickup options to more models
  • Added the B-140E acoustic bass with Fishman Sonitone pickup
  • Introduced a streamlined model naming system:
    • M=Concert
    • D=Dreadnought
    • OM=Orchestra
    • F=Jumbo
    • B=Bass
    • 120=all mahogany
    • 140=spruce with mahogany
    • 150=spruce with rosewood.
      • For 12 string models, the “0” in the above wood codes is replaced with “12”
    • C=Cutaway
    • E=Electronics
    • L=Lefty

What is the Guild privacy policy?

You can read our full privacy policy here.

FINDING AND CARING FOR YOUR GUILD

Where can I find an authorized Guild Dealer?

Please visit the dealer search section of our website here.

What type of polish is safe to use on my guitar?

To keep your Guild fresh and free of grime, we recommend a microfiber guitar polishing cloth (such as the one available at our webstore) along with any polish or cleaner specifically made for lacquer finishes. While almost any polish made specifically for guitar will be safe to use on your Guild, it really comes down to the type of finish that is on the guitar. Durable finishes like polyurethane will withstand almost any polish you can find, but more delicate finishes like varnish or nitro may react adversely to more abrasive products. When shopping for a polish, just be sure that it is approved for the type of finish on your guitar – if you are not sure about the type of finish on your guitar, we suggest seeking the opinion of an experienced guitar technician or guitar shop employee who can help you find the best product. It is a good idea to avoid any polishes or cleaners that are not made specifically for guitar such as metal polish, furniture polish, or automotive products, as they can contain abrasives or chemicals that can harm the delicate and thin finish on the guitar. Any raw wood such as the fingerboard and/or bridge should be treated with a mild, natural oil such as lemon oil or boiled linseed oil. Regular, light treatment such as during a restring is all that is needed to keep these un-finished wood parts healthy.

Can I send my guitar to the factory for repair?

Because our resources and manpower are focused on getting production ramped up at our new factory, we are not offering repairs on vintage Guilds at the moment. We do intend to provide this service in the coming years. Until then, we are directing customers in need of service and repair to network of Authorized Service Centers. Please contact us so we can find a Service Center in your area!

Does Guild have Authorized Service Centers?

Yes! Contact us directly to find an Authorized Service Center in your area.

WARRANTY

Does Guild offer a Lifetime warranty?

Yes! Please review our warranty policy here.

I don’t have the original sales receipt, am I still covered under lifetime warranty?

Yes, as long as a copy of the invoice can be obtained, or the purchase can be verified verbally by the original dealer. Since our warranty applies only to the original purchaser, and to instruments purchased from an Authorized Guild Dealer, either a copy of the receipt or verbal verification from the dealer is required to vet these points. Generally a dealer will be more than happy to provide a duplicate receipt if the original has been misplaced.

If the provenance of the guitar cannot be verified for warranty eligibility, our service department will be happy to provide you with options for service alternatives.

If I registered my vintage guitar several years ago, am I still in your system?

Since Guild has changed ownership a few times in the past, some registration information has been lost, however, we encourage to check with us and to re-register your instrument if in doubt.

REPLACEMENT PARTS & WEBSTORE

Do you have parts for vintage/discontinued Guild?

Guild Guitars only stocks parts for current production models made by Cordoba Music Group beginning in 2014. We do not stock parts for discontinued models, or any guitar made before 2014. Parts purchased from the Guild Web Store are not guaranteed to fit guitars made before 2014. For information about replacement parts for your vintage or discontinued Guild model, please contact one of many aftermarket parts suppliers, which can be found via any online search engine. Some popular suppliers include Stewart MacdonaldLuthier’s MercantileAllPartstheguitarmechanic.comGurian Instruments.

 

Which one of your cases will fit my vintage Guild guitar?

Like parts and hardware, Guild Guitars currently manufactures and stocks cases designed to fit current production models only. However, in general, if the model that you own is still in production, or a reissue is in production, the case for that current model will most likely fit your vintage Guild. For example, a vintage D-55 will fit a current dreadnought case, a vintage Aristocrat will fit a current Aristocrat case, a vintage F-30 will fit a current Orchestra sized case, etc. There are a few exceptions that we don’t currently offer, but most models will have a corresponding case that we can help you acquire. For further information, please contact an Authorized Guild Dealer.

How do I return something I purchased from your website?

Please refer to our Returns Policy on our website here.

How long will it take to receive my order?

We ship out of Southern California. For orders shipping within the USA, our typical processing time is 1 business day and it can take 5-8 business days to ship after your order is processed. For International orders, it can take anywhere from 2-4 weeks depending on customs and duties.

VINTAGE

How old is my vintage Guild?

Unfortunately, some documentation has been lost or destroyed over the years, resulting in some holes in the historical record in addition to a small number of anomalies, inconsistencies and outright dating errors. With that said, the information compiled and presented here is the most comprehensive data set we have for dating Guild guitars. Please refer to the notes preceding each chart on how to best interpret the data.

Records of Guild serial numbers before 1960 are at best sketchy, preventing us from being able to assure dating accuracy before that year. Nonetheless, the charts available in the link above contain the best information we have on the approximate last serial numbers produced each year before 1960. There are no corresponding model names or numbers available.

Two other highly reliable resources for dating Guild instruments are The Guild Guitar Book and Gruhn’s Guide to Vintage Guitars, both of which are excellent references that often prove helpful with questions regarding dating, specifications and historical context of many Guild instruments.

What is the value of my vintage Guild?

Since the focus of our company is as a manufacturer and wholesaler of instruments, we are not directly connected to the used market and do not offer appraisals at this time. For an official appraisal, or to find the current market value for your Guild, we recommend contacting a Vintage or Used guitar dealer who specializes in used guitars. For general information including rough estimates or values, we also recommend checking out online resources such as www.bluebookofguitarvalues.com.

What information do you have about Corona-made Guilds?

In late 2001, a little after Fender had acquired Guild, they decided to move all Guild production to its factory in Corona, California. To ease the Corona facility (which had only made electric guitars up to this point) into making archtop and acoustic guitars, the Westerly factory artisans and workers prepared guitar ‘kits’ that they shipped to Corona. These kits were near-complete production guitars that only needed finishing and final assembly before being sent to retailers.

Production in Corona was short-lived, however, as Fender acquired the assets of Washington-based Tacoma Guitar Company in 2004, and moved all American Guild acoustic production to Tacoma, Washington.

A number of different alpha prefixes were used for the Corona serial numbers but the one constant is that they all started with the letter “C”.

Don’t see your question here? Contact us and we’ll get back to you!