值得关注的艺术家:Andrew Sheppard安德鲁-谢帕德

5672fb36-cf50-4a60-af23-4c38ac110020

Guild艺术家Andrew Sheppard演奏的音乐与他的年龄不相称。它是乡村和民谣,听起来像70年代的老黑胶唱片,但歌词是真实的,并停留在你的脑海里好几天。考虑到Andrew与他的古董Guild D-25的历史,我们认为他是试用我们新的Guild USA吉他的最佳人选。除了用新出炉的Guild D-20演奏了几首新歌之外,Andrew还回答了一些问题,并向我们介绍了他的音乐生涯。

GG:跟我们说说你的背景吧。你是怎么开始接触音乐的?

AS:在我玩音乐之前,我的职业是滑板运动员。但一次相当激烈的伤病结束了我的滑板生涯,所以我买了一把便宜的吉他,自学了一些基本的和弦,并在伤愈后开始写歌。不过,我确实是在年轻时在朋克乐队中弹贝斯和唱歌长大的。我的妈妈也在蓝调和摇滚乐队中唱歌,所以我一直在音乐周围。 

GG:你是怎么/什么时候决定音乐是你想做的,全职的?

AS:2007年在洛杉矶组建了我的第一支乐队"吉普赛河闹鬼"后,我意识到音乐是我想要的,也是我要做的全职工作。这是最有成就感的事情,因为那时我已经写了很多歌,而且还真的有一些猫咪想和我一起演奏。我们折腾了相当长的时间,开始拿钱演出,从那以后我就一直以这种方式谋生(艰难)。 

GG:跟我们说说你的公会吧。你是如何/何时/在哪里找到它的?

AS:我现在的工作主力是1972年的Guild D-25。它是我的一个战友送给我的,很多年前他在田纳西州驻扎的地方附近的一家当铺捡到的。几年前,我和他在爱达荷州相识,开始在一起玩耍,我开始在那把吉他上挑来挑去,有一天,他说那把吉他需要我,我也需要它,于是,它成了我的。这是我玩过的最破旧的吉他。人们要花很多年的时间,如果有的话,才能找到合适的吉他,而这就是我的那把吉他。 

GG:你的公会是否会影响你的语气和写作风格?

AS:我的吉他和我的写作风格有很大关系。我喜欢在任何地方和任何地方写作,我用我的吉他作为一个容器来实现这一点。我的所有歌曲都是在我的公会上写的,所以我想我们之间显然是有联系的。 

GG:你是先写旋律,还是先写词?两者同时进行?

AS:除了歌名,我很少在没有吉他的情况下写任何词。我通常只是开始弹奏,然后边弹边想出旋律和歌词,然后停下来把开头、中间和结尾整理好。有时我只是把东西扔到墙上,看看有什么东西能粘住。

GG:到目前为止,你最喜欢的演出是什么?

AS:到目前为止,我最喜欢的演出是拉斯维加斯的Dick's Tavern。我第一次在那里演出的时候非常棒。他们给了我们一个装满啤酒的马槽,还有一个没牙的女人在跳舞,要求唱Bob Segar的歌。我不知道烟熏火燎的摩托车手酒吧和下流的女人有什么关系,但对我来说,没有比这更好的了。不过,我可不想一辈子都在玩这种类型的演出。 

GG:当你不演出或玩音乐时,你会做什么?有其他爱好吗?

AS:在音乐之外,我有很多爱好,我还经常玩滑板,冬天还玩滑雪板。我尽量去钓鱼和打高尔夫,一般都是和我的狗一起在山上爬山或者在河里玩。

我计划秋天在纳什维尔录制一张新唱片,它已经写好了,所以现在到了有趣的部分,就是能够负担得起它。一旦唱片出炉,我就会尽可能地大量巡演,这样我就有能力再做一张唱片。  

在他的网站上了解更多关于安德鲁的信息。在这里聆听他的音乐。在这里了解更多关于美国公会的信息。

0 答复

留下回复

想加入讨论吗?
,欢迎投稿。

留下回复

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。标记为必填项*

Artist To Watch: Andrew Sheppard

5672fb36-cf50-4a60-af23-4c38ac110020

Guild artist Andrew Sheppard plays music that belies his age. It’s country and folky and sounds like it could be off an old vinyl record from the 70s, but the lyrics ring true and get stuck in your head for days. Given Andrew’s history with his vintage Guild D-25, we thought he would be the perfect guy on whom to try out one of our new Guild USA guitars. On top of playing a few of his new songs on a fresh-off-the-press Guild D-20, Andrew answered a few questions and filled us in on his musical career.

GG: Tell us a bit about your background. How did you get started with music?

AS: Before I played music, I was a skateboarder by trade. But a pretty intense injury ended my skateboard career so I bought a cheap guitar and taught myself some basic chords and started writing songs while I was healing from my injury. I did, however, grow up playing bass and singing in punk bands when I was younger. My mom sang in blues and rock n’ roll bands as well, so I was around music all the time. 

GG: How/when did you decide that music was what you wanted to do, full time?

AS: I realized music was what I wanted and was going to do full time after I had put together my first band “Gypsy River Haunts” in Los Angeles in 2007. It was the most fulfilling thing having had written a number of songs by then and actually getting some cats together that wanted to play them with me. We toughed it out for quite a few years and started getting paid to play and I’ve been making a (tough) living that way ever since. 

GG: Tell us about your Guild. How/when/where did you find it?

AS: My current workhorse is a 1972 Guild D-25. It was given to me by a war vet buddy of mine that picked it up at a pawn shop near where he was stationed in Tennessee many years ago. He and I met in Idaho a few years back and started kicking around together and I started picking around on that guitar, and one day he said that the guitar needed me, and I needed it, so, it became mine. It’s the most well worn guitar I’ve ever played. It takes people years, if ever, to find the right guitar and this is that guitar for me. 

GG: Does your Guild influence your tone and your style of writing?

AS: My guitar has a lot to do with my writing style. I like to write anywhere and everywhere and I use my guitar as a vessel in which to do that. I write just about all my songs on my Guild, so I guess it’s apparent that we have a connection to one another. 

GG: Do you write melodies first, or words? Both at the same time?

AS: I rarely write any words without having my guitar except for song titles. I’ll usually just starting playing and come up with melodies and words as I go, and then stop to get my beginnings, middles, and ends in order. Sometimes I just throw stuff at the wall and see what sticks.

GG: What’s been your favorite gig to date?

AS: My favorite gig to date would have to be Dick’s Tavern in Las Vegas. The first time I played there was amazing. They gave us a horse trough full of beer and there was a toothless woman dancing and demanding Bob Segar songs. I don’t know what it is about smokey biker bars with trashy woman, but to me it doesn’t get much better than that. However, I don’t want to be playing those types of gigs the rest of my life. 

GG: What do you do when you’re not gigging or playing music? Any other hobbies?

AS: I have a lot of hobbies outside of music, I still skateboard a lot, and snowboard in the winter. I try to fish and golf as much as possible and generally spend my time in mountains hiking with my dog or playing in the river.

I’m planning on recording a new record in Nashville in the fall, it’s already written so now comes the fun part of being able to afford it. Once the record is out I’m going to tour as heavily as I can so that I can afford to make yet another one.  

Learn more about Andrew on his website. Listen to his music here. Learn more about Guild USA here.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.